Company assessment — by a competitor
We Buy Any House advertises completion in a matter of days. This page looks at who is behind the brand, what the published record shows about how sales are actually completed, and the contract terms sellers have reported.
Published August 29, 2026 ·
Last reviewed September 3, 2026
The short version
The gap between what is advertised and what reviewers describe is the thing to focus on here. A genuine cash purchase delivers two benefits: a price you can rely on and a date you can plan around. Where a sale is instead passed to an investor or listed on the open market, neither benefit survives, but the below-market price usually does. Several reviewers describe contracts spanning two connected companies with different cancellation terms, which is a structure worth having a solicitor read before signing anything. The service clearly works for some sellers, and staff are frequently praised by name. But the combination of a recently incorporated parent with no published accounts, no NAPB or TPO membership, and repeated reports of tie-in agreements makes independent verification difficult. Any seller considering this route should get the offer and the exit terms in writing and take legal advice before committing.
Who they actually are
| Legal entity | Hawksmoor Equity Limited |
|---|---|
| Company number | 14510903 |
| Incorporated | 28 November 2022 |
| Registered office | Unit 2.01 Hollinwood Business Centre, Albert Street, Hollinwood, Failsworth OL8 3QL (previously Piccadilly Business Centre, Manchester M12 6AE) |
What this means in plain terms. Presents as an established direct buyer; parent incorporated Nov 2022 with no filed accounts. As at August 2026, a commercial credit database records Hawksmoor Equity Limited's status as in liquidation; the live Companies House record is the authoritative source for current status. A company's status is directly material to whether the brand behind it can complete purchases as advertised, so check the register entry on the day you deal with them.
Financial position
Reported turnover: Not available – parent incorporated Nov 2022, no accounts published.
The question this section answers: can this company complete at the figure it offers?
Credentials
| We Buy Any House | My Homebuyers | |
|---|---|---|
| The Property Ombudsman | Not a member (TPO register, re-check on day of writing) | Registered as My Homebuyers |
| NAPB | Not a member (NAPB register, re-check on day of writing) | Membership number 66 |
| Property Redress Scheme | Member (re-check on day of writing) | TPO Member |
What they pay — and a percentage of what?
What they publish. Published price position: ~85% per website illustration (FAQ says ~80%). Fees: Website says no fees or hidden costs. Legal fees: Website suggests covered; unclear if recommended solicitor required.
The denominator question. A percentage of market value only means something if you know
whose valuation of market value. 85% of a company’s own desktop estimate can be less money
than 80% of an independent estate agent valuation.
Their described valuation approach: Claims market-leading technology trusted by mortgage lenders and banks; no further detail. Nothing in the material we reviewed (August 2026) states whose valuation of market value any percentage figure applies to — the figure is produced by their own process, which is exactly why the question matters.
Our 80% is based on what we genuinely believe your property could sell for on the open market in current conditions, using comparable sales, market data and evidence from local estate agents. How our figure is set.
Initial offer versus final offer. Reported in public reviews: Reviews report significantly lower; up to 95% via assisted move/online agency route. Complaint themes: Broker vs cash buyer confusion; initial offers reduced 25-35%; tie-in contracts; notice of equitable charge allegations.
We agree our offer based on the information available at the time and aim to complete at that price. We don't use a higher initial offer to secure the property and then reduce it later without good reason.
What you’re asked to sign, and when
In the material we reviewed (August 2026): Yes – reported, via sister company House Sales Direct; cancellation fees reported. Get the specific documents in writing before your first call, and check every clause against the question below. (Their published terms as archived 1 August 2026.)
The question to ask them before your first phone call, in writing:
“Will I be asked to sign anything before exchange of contracts — an
exclusivity period, option agreement, or anything with a withdrawal fee? If so, please send it now.”
We never ask you to sign anything before exchange of contracts. No exclusivity period, no option
agreement, no lock-in, no fees if you walk away. Until the day you exchange, you can talk to anyone,
accept any offer, and leave at any point — it costs you nothing.
Our terms, in full.
How long they take
Published timescale: As little as 3 days. Their described process: Enquiry, in-principle offer (claimed within an hour), detailed assessment, formal offer, completion date.
As little as 14 working days, or anytime thereafter to suit your circumstances.
Public review profile
Figures as recorded in our dataset (August 2026): Trustpilot 4.5/5 from 370 reviews. Negative-review response rate 66%. Review removal activity: 13 requested; 5 rejected; 8 removed no reviewer response. Note: Source page showed 4.4 in heading and 4.5 in body for Trustpilot. Neither verified. (Figures recorded 1 August 2026.)
Side by side
| We Buy Any House | My Homebuyers | |
|---|---|---|
| Business model | Broker / agency | Direct Cash House Buyer |
| Buys with own funds | Third-party buyers | Yes |
| Published % of market value | ~85% per website illustration (FAQ says ~80%) | 80% |
| % of what — denominator stated? | Not stated | Expected sale price — based on comparable sales and current market data |
| Fees to seller | Website says no fees or hidden costs | No Fess |
| Anything to sign before exchange? | Pre-exchange agreement reported — see contracts section | Nothing to sign |
| Typical timescale | As little as 3 days | Typically 14 working days, or anytime thereafter |
| Offer held to completion | Not published; reductions reported in reviews — see pay section | Yes — held to completion |
| Who makes the offer decision | Not stated | Company Director |
| Coverage | Not stated | National |
| NAPB | Not a member (NAPB register, re-check on day of writing) | Member |
| TPO | Not a member (TPO register, re-check on day of writing) | Member |
| Company age | Not stated; claims 15 years experience | 10 years |
Where they beat us
- Property Redress Scheme member
- A marketplace/introducer model can put your property in front of multiple buyers at once — something a single direct buyer like us structurally cannot do
- Not tied to one buyer’s balance sheet: if one of their buyers falls away, another can step in
Who they’re right for — and who should look elsewhere
Right for you if: Staff support; speed of communication; flexible route options.
Look elsewhere if: No evidence of direct cash purchases; limited public company info; not NAPB; tie-in contracts and reduced offers reported.
One structural difference worth knowing about, whoever you sell to.
We Buy Any House operates an intermediary model, so the company you deal with is not necessarily the company that buys. We’re different in a specific, checkable way: we are the buyer, we’re small, and the director who makes the offer is the person who answers the phone — the name at the bottom of this page is the name on your paperwork. Small also means we sometimes say no; we’d rather decline than quote a figure we’d renegotiate later.
How to check any cash buyer yourself — including us
Four checks that take twenty minutes: confirm the legal entity on Companies House and match it to the name on
anything you’re asked to sign; check The Property Ombudsman and NAPB registers directly rather than trusting
logos; ask “a percentage of what figure, and who sets it?” before discussing the percentage itself;
and ask, in writing, what you’ll be asked to sign before exchange.
The full method.
Right of reply and corrections
We Buy Any House: if anything on this page is inaccurate, email
contact@myhomebuyers.co.uk. We’ll verify and correct
within five working days, and log the change below with the date. We’ll publish a response from you alongside
this assessment if you want one.
| Date | Change | Raised by |
|---|---|---|
| — | No corrections to date | — |
Questions people ask about We Buy Any House
Is We Buy Any House a genuine cash buyer?
We Buy Any House describes itself as broker / agency. On funding, their position is: third-party buyers. The reliable test is not the label but the paperwork: ask which registered company would be the buyer on your contract, and ask for proof of funds.
How much does We Buy Any House pay — and of what valuation?
Their published position is ~85% per website illustration (FAQ says ~80%). Whatever figure is quoted, ask the question their material does not answer: a percentage of what valuation, and who sets it? Our own answer to that question is on our what-we-pay page.
Does We Buy Any House ask you to sign anything before exchange?
The material we reviewed indicates paperwork before exchange — see the contracts section above for exactly what. Ask for every document in writing before your first call, and check it for exclusivity periods, option agreements and withdrawal fees. We ask you to sign nothing before exchange.
How long does We Buy Any House take?
As little as 3 days. Treat headline speed as the fastest case, not the typical one.
Does We Buy Any House charge fees?
Website says no fees or hidden costs Legal fees: Website suggests covered; unclear if recommended solicitor required.
Is We Buy Any House a member of the NAPB?
Not a member (NAPB register, re-check on day of writing). Membership is checkable in minutes: search the NAPB member list directly rather than relying on logos, and do the same on The Property Ombudsman register.
What happened to We Buy Any House?
Sister company House Sales Direct; parent only incorporated Nov 2022.

