Upstix Reviews

Company assessment — by a competitor

Upstix is a recent entrant using automated valuation rather than agent appraisal. That model produces faster offers but introduces a specific risk at survey stage, which this page sets out.

Published August 29, 2026 ·
Last reviewed September 3, 2026

The short version

The trade-off here is explicit and, to the company's credit, not hidden: an algorithm produces a fast offer without seeing the property, and the figure is then tested by a surveyor who has. The company has itself acknowledged that many offers are revised down at that stage. That is useful honesty, but it means the opening number should be treated as an estimate rather than a commitment. The absence of a published registration number is the more significant issue, because it prevents a seller from carrying out basic checks on who they are dealing with. Too early to say with confidence, and that is the honest answer. The review base is small and a notable share comes from people who did not complete a sale, so there is limited evidence about how the company performs end to end. Membership of NAPB and TPO is a positive. Before proceeding, ask for the company registration number so you can verify the entity yourself, and ask whether the purchase is funded directly or through a third party.

Who they actually are

Source: Companies House, checked 29 August 2026
Legal entity Upstix Technologies Ltd
Company number 13180792
Incorporated 4 February 2021
Registered office One Sovereign Quay, Leeds LS1 4AG
Controlling owner — check PSC register; press/secondary sources suggest control changes since 2021
Latest accounts To 30 September 2024; next due 30 September 2026

What this means in plain terms. Registration number not published; company not locatable on Companies House. Companies House shows 243 charges registered against the company (209 outstanding as at Aug 2026), largely to a commercial lender — consistent with property purchases financed via secured lending rather than free cash; worth reading alongside their cash-buyer positioning.

Financial position

Reported turnover: Not found.

The question this section answers: can this company complete at the figure it offers?

Credentials

Checked directly against each register
Upstix My Homebuyers
The Property Ombudsman Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing) Registered as My Homebuyers
NAPB Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing) Membership number 66

What they pay — and a percentage of what?

What they publish. Published price position: ~85% (approx 15% below market value); FAQ says up to 85%. Fees: No fees claimed. Legal fees: Contradictory – about page says seller pays, FAQs say covered.

The denominator question. A percentage of market value only means something if you know
whose valuation of market value. 85% of a company’s own desktop estimate can be less money
than 80% of an independent estate agent valuation.

Their described valuation approach: Online technology and algorithm (iBuyer model); independent agent validation per FAQs. Nothing in the material we reviewed (August 2026) states whose valuation of market value any percentage figure applies to — the figure is produced by their own process, which is exactly why the question matters.

Our answer to the same question

Our 80% is based on what we genuinely believe your property could sell for on the open market in current conditions, using comparable sales, market data and evidence from local estate agents. How our figure is set.

Initial offer versus final offer. Reported in public reviews: 75-85% cited in positive reviews; some initial offers reported at 50-60%. Complaint themes: Automated valuation errors (offers as low as 50-60%); communication drops and ghosting; last-minute price reductions.

Our comparable, from our completions data

We agree our offer based on the information available at the time and aim to complete at that price. We don't use a higher initial offer to secure the property and then reduce it later without good reason.

What you’re asked to sign, and when

Their standard seller terms were not published in the material we reviewed (August 2026). A company that does not publish what it asks sellers to sign leaves you one option: request the documents in writing before your first phone call, and read them against the question below. If they publish or provide their terms, this section will be updated and the change logged. (Their published terms as archived 1 August 2026.)

The question to ask them before your first phone call, in writing:

“Will I be asked to sign anything before exchange of contracts — an
exclusivity period, option agreement, or anything with a withdrawal fee? If so, please send it now.”

Our position on the same question

We never ask you to sign anything before exchange of contracts. No exclusivity period, no option
agreement, no lock-in, no fees if you walk away. Until the day you exchange, you can talk to anyone,
accept any offer, and leave at any point — it costs you nothing.
Our terms, in full.

How long they take

Published timescale: As little as 7 days after solicitors instructed; reviews cite 3-7 weeks. Their described process: Online form or call, offer in principle within 24hrs, independent RICS surveyor valuation, completion.

Our comparable, method stated

As little as 14 working days, or anytime thereafter to suit your circumstances.

Public review profile

Figures as recorded in our dataset (August 2026): Trustpilot 3.9/5; Google 3/5 from 4 reviews. (Figures recorded 1 August 2026.)

Side by side

Same rows, same order, on every assessment we publish
Upstix My Homebuyers
Business model Direct buyer Direct Cash House Buyer
Buys with own funds Unclear – one review references a finance company Yes
Published % of market value ~85% (approx 15% below market value); FAQ says up to 85% 80%
% of what — denominator stated? Not stated Expected sale price — based on comparable sales and current market data
Fees to seller No fees claimed No Fess
Anything to sign before exchange? Not stated Nothing to sign
Typical timescale As little as 7 days after solicitors instructed; reviews cite 3-7 weeks Typically 14 working days, or anytime thereafter
Offer held to completion Not published; reductions reported in reviews — see pay section Yes — held to completion
Who makes the offer decision Not stated Company Director
Coverage Not stated National
NAPB Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing) Member
TPO Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing) Member
Company age 2021/2022 (conflicting info) 10 years

Where they beat us

  1. Speed of process: a technology-led operation built specifically for fast offers and completions
  2. Significant institutional funding capacity behind their purchasing
  3. A larger, faster-growing operation handling more transactions than we do

Who they’re right for — and who should look elsewhere

Right for you if: Speed of data-driven offers; personalised support; transparency about 75-85% pricing.

Look elsewhere if: Small review volume; company registration number not on website; algorithmic valuations linked to post-survey reductions.

One structural difference worth knowing about, whoever you sell to.
At larger operators like Upstix, the offer comes out of a pricing and underwriting process, and the person you speak to is rarely the person who decides. We’re small — the director who makes the offer is the person who answers the phone, and the name at the bottom of this page is the name on your paperwork. Small also means we sometimes say no: we can only buy so many houses at once, and we’d rather decline than offer a figure we’d renegotiate later.

How to check any cash buyer yourself — including us

Four checks that take twenty minutes: confirm the legal entity on Companies House and match it to the name on
anything you’re asked to sign; check The Property Ombudsman and NAPB registers directly rather than trusting
logos; ask “a percentage of what figure, and who sets it?” before discussing the percentage itself;
and ask, in writing, what you’ll be asked to sign before exchange.
The full method.

Right of reply and corrections

Upstix: if anything on this page is inaccurate, email
contact@myhomebuyers.co.uk. We’ll verify and correct
within five working days, and log the change below with the date. We’ll publish a response from you alongside
this assessment if you want one.

Corrections log
Date Change Raised by
No corrections to date

Questions people ask about Upstix

Is Upstix a genuine cash buyer?

Upstix describes itself as direct buyer. On funding, their position is: unclear – one review references a finance company. The reliable test is not the label but the paperwork: ask which registered company would be the buyer on your contract, and ask for proof of funds.

How much does Upstix pay — and of what valuation?

Their published position is ~85% (approx 15% below market value); FAQ says up to 85%. Whatever figure is quoted, ask the question their material does not answer: a percentage of what valuation, and who sets it? Our own answer to that question is on our what-we-pay page.

Does Upstix ask you to sign anything before exchange?

Their standard seller terms are not published, so ask them directly and in writing before proceeding: will you be asked to sign anything before exchange — an exclusivity period, an option agreement, or anything with a withdrawal fee? We ask you to sign nothing before exchange, and our terms page says so in writing.

How long does Upstix take?

As little as 7 days after solicitors instructed; reviews cite 3-7 weeks. Treat headline speed as the fastest case, not the typical one.

Does Upstix charge fees?

No fees claimed Legal fees: Contradictory – about page says seller pays, FAQs say covered.

Is Upstix a member of the NAPB?

Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing). Membership is checkable in minutes: search the NAPB member list directly rather than relying on logos, and do the same on The Property Ombudsman register.

What happened to Upstix?

Company not locatable on Companies House; company acknowledged down-valuation at RICS survey stage.

Kelvin Elliott is Managing Director of My Homebuyers. Twenty years in UK property —
mortgage brokerage, estate agency, development and direct acquisition. Kelvin makes every offer
My Homebuyers issues.

My Homebuyers competes with Upstix, which is
why this page opens with a disclosure.

Sources: Companies House (company 13180792); The Property Ombudsman and NAPB registers; Trustpilot and Google review platforms (figures recorded August 2026); the company’s own published material as reviewed August 2026.

My Homebuyers figures last verified 28 August 2026.