The Property Buying Company Reviews

Company assessment — by a competitor

The Property Buying Company publishes a clear discount figure and holds both main memberships, which puts it ahead of much of the sector on transparency. The concerns raised by sellers are about contracts and late price changes.

Published August 29, 2026 ·
Last reviewed September 3, 2026

The short version

Publishing a target discount is a genuine mark in this company's favour, and the physical visit before the formalised offer is better practice than several competitors manage. The recurring theme in critical reviews is the gap between the conditional and final figure, combined with arrangements that restrict the seller's ability to go elsewhere in the meantime. A restriction registered against your title is not a minor administrative step, and it is the single thing to get a solicitor to review before signing. On transparency and accreditation this company performs better than most of the sector. The concern is the combination of a conditional offer with contractual restrictions, because that pairing narrows the seller's options at the point the price may move. Ask whether anything will be registered against the property, what the cancellation terms are, and what specifically would trigger a change to the offer.

Who they actually are

Source: Companies House, checked 29 August 2026
Legal entity The Property Buying Company Limited
Company number 08023018
Incorporated 10 April 2012
Previous names Alliance Home Buyers Limited (10 Apr 2012 – 27 Mar 2013)
Registered office 4 Deighton Close, Wetherby, West Yorkshire LS22 7GZ
Latest accounts To 31 March 2024; next due 31 December 2025 (check filed on time)

What this means in plain terms. Related SPV entities (The Property Buying Company SPV1 Limited 11208062, SPV2 Limited 13617373) are registered at the same address — ask which entity would be the buyer on your contract.

Financial position

Reported turnover: Not published – small company exemption.

The question this section answers: can this company complete at the figure it offers?

Credentials

Checked directly against each register
The Property Buying Company My Homebuyers
The Property Ombudsman Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing) Registered as My Homebuyers
NAPB Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing) Membership number 66

What they pay — and a percentage of what?

What they publish. Published price position: ~80%. Fees: Website says no fees. Legal fees: Yes, if using their recommended solicitor.

The denominator question. A percentage of market value only means something if you know
whose valuation of market value. 85% of a company’s own desktop estimate can be less money
than 80% of an independent estate agent valuation.

Their described valuation approach: In-house underwriters and property research. Nothing in the material we reviewed (August 2026) states whose valuation of market value any percentage figure applies to — the figure is produced by their own process, which is exactly why the question matters.

Our answer to the same question

Our 80% is based on what we genuinely believe your property could sell for on the open market in current conditions, using comparable sales, market data and evidence from local estate agents. How our figure is set.

Initial offer versus final offer. Reported in public reviews: Reductions of 10-20% reported before completion. Complaint themes: Price reductions after survey (10-20%); contractual tie-ins and notices; ambiguity over buyer status.

Our comparable, from our completions data

We agree our offer based on the information available at the time and aim to complete at that price. We don't use a higher initial offer to secure the property and then reduce it later without good reason.

What you’re asked to sign, and when

In the material we reviewed (August 2026): Yes – contracts and notices on property reported. Get the specific documents in writing before your first call, and check every clause against the question below. (Their published terms as archived 1 August 2026.)

The question to ask them before your first phone call, in writing:

“Will I be asked to sign anything before exchange of contracts — an
exclusivity period, option agreement, or anything with a withdrawal fee? If so, please send it now.”

Our position on the same question

We never ask you to sign anything before exchange of contracts. No exclusivity period, no option
agreement, no lock-in, no fees if you walk away. Until the day you exchange, you can talk to anyone,
accept any offer, and leave at any point — it costs you nothing.
Our terms, in full.

How long they take

Published timescale: As little as 1 week; most complete in 2-3 weeks. Their described process: Enquiry form, cash offer within 24hrs, regional manager visit, formalised offer, solicitor instructed, valuation, exchange.

Our comparable, method stated

As little as 14 working days, or anytime thereafter to suit your circumstances.

Public review profile

Figures as recorded in our dataset (August 2026): Trustpilot 4.5/5; Google 4.4/5. Negative-review response rate 84%. Review removal activity: 22 requested; 11 rejected; 11 removed no reviewer response. (Figures recorded 1 August 2026.)

Side by side

Same rows, same order, on every assessment we publish
The Property Buying Company My Homebuyers
Business model Hybrid Direct Cash House Buyer
Buys with own funds Own funds / investors Yes
Published % of market value ~80% 80%
% of what — denominator stated? Not stated Expected sale price — based on comparable sales and current market data
Fees to seller Website says no fees No Fess
Anything to sign before exchange? Pre-exchange agreement reported — see contracts section Nothing to sign
Typical timescale As little as 1 week; most complete in 2-3 weeks Typically 14 working days, or anytime thereafter
Offer held to completion Not published; reductions reported in reviews — see pay section Yes — held to completion
Who makes the offer decision Not stated Company Director
Coverage Not stated National
NAPB Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing) Member
TPO Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing) Member
Company age Since 2012 10 years

Where they beat us

  1. A longer corporate track record — the entity behind the brand has been on the register since 2012, longer than ours
  2. A longer corporate track record than ours — the entity behind the brand has been on the register since 2012
  3. Greater purchasing capacity — a larger operation can take on more purchases at once than we can

Who they’re right for — and who should look elsewhere

Right for you if: Professionalism in probate/divorce sales; speed 2-3 weeks; covers legal and survey costs; communication.

Look elsewhere if: Claims own-reserves purchase but reviews suggest brokering; tie-in contracts and property notices; review-removal bribery allegation.

One structural difference worth knowing about, whoever you sell to.
At larger operators like The Property Buying Company, the offer comes out of a pricing and underwriting process, and the person you speak to is rarely the person who decides. We’re small — the director who makes the offer is the person who answers the phone, and the name at the bottom of this page is the name on your paperwork. Small also means we sometimes say no: we can only buy so many houses at once, and we’d rather decline than offer a figure we’d renegotiate later.

How to check any cash buyer yourself — including us

Four checks that take twenty minutes: confirm the legal entity on Companies House and match it to the name on
anything you’re asked to sign; check The Property Ombudsman and NAPB registers directly rather than trusting
logos; ask “a percentage of what figure, and who sets it?” before discussing the percentage itself;
and ask, in writing, what you’ll be asked to sign before exchange.
The full method.

Right of reply and corrections

The Property Buying Company: if anything on this page is inaccurate, email
contact@myhomebuyers.co.uk. We’ll verify and correct
within five working days, and log the change below with the date. We’ll publish a response from you alongside
this assessment if you want one.

Corrections log
Date Change Raised by
No corrections to date

Questions people ask about The Property Buying Company

Is The Property Buying Company a genuine cash buyer?

The Property Buying Company describes itself as hybrid. On funding, their position is: own funds / investors. The reliable test is not the label but the paperwork: ask which registered company would be the buyer on your contract, and ask for proof of funds.

How much does The Property Buying Company pay — and of what valuation?

Their published position is ~80%. Whatever figure is quoted, ask the question their material does not answer: a percentage of what valuation, and who sets it? Our own answer to that question is on our what-we-pay page.

Does The Property Buying Company ask you to sign anything before exchange?

The material we reviewed indicates paperwork before exchange — see the contracts section above for exactly what. Ask for every document in writing before your first call, and check it for exclusivity periods, option agreements and withdrawal fees. We ask you to sign nothing before exchange.

How long does The Property Buying Company take?

As little as 1 week; most complete in 2-3 weeks. Treat headline speed as the fastest case, not the typical one.

Does The Property Buying Company charge fees?

Website says no fees Legal fees: Yes, if using their recommended solicitor.

Is The Property Buying Company a member of the NAPB?

Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing). Membership is checkable in minutes: search the NAPB member list directly rather than relying on logos, and do the same on The Property Ombudsman register.

What happened to The Property Buying Company?

Reports of pulling out at last minute and missed completion dates.

Kelvin Elliott is Managing Director of My Homebuyers. Twenty years in UK property —
mortgage brokerage, estate agency, development and direct acquisition. Kelvin makes every offer
My Homebuyers issues.

My Homebuyers competes with The Property Buying Company, which is
why this page opens with a disclosure.

Sources: Companies House (company 08023018); The Property Ombudsman and NAPB registers; Trustpilot and Google review platforms (figures recorded August 2026); the company’s own published material as reviewed August 2026.

My Homebuyers figures last verified 28 August 2026.