Company assessment — by a competitor
Sold in a Day has good review scores and sellers who report fast, well-communicated sales. It also files accounts that are difficult to reconcile with the claims on its own website. Both things are set out below.
Published August 29, 2026 ·
Last reviewed September 3, 2026
The short version
The arithmetic is the part that does not bend. A company claiming to purchase hundreds of properties a year needs capital to do it, and filed accounts showing roughly £260,000 in assets do not cover a single average purchase, let alone hundreds. That does not mean nothing happens when you sell to them, and reviewers describing quick completions are presumably describing something real. It means the transaction is very unlikely to be the one advertised. The dated graphics point the same way: rosettes carrying years before the company existed, and a claim of decades of experience against five years of trading, are checkable in a minute and hard to explain as oversights. Read the accreditation line carefully, because it is the easiest thing on this page to misread. Being listed with The Property Ombudsman as an estate agency is a legal minimum for anyone marketing property, not a mark of standing as a property buyer, and it is not the same as the full membership several competitors hold. Combined with no registration number on the site and no NAPB membership, a seller has very little to verify. If you proceed, get in writing whether the company is the purchaser or is marketing the property, and whether it will be advertised publicly, since that last point is directly contradicted between their FAQ and their reviews.
Who they actually are
| Incorporated | June 2020 per Companies House (per old dataset — verify at Companies House) |
|---|
What this means in plain terms. Claims 700+ purchases a year and £94m spent; filed accounts show c.£260,754 assets, below one average UK property price. Award graphics dated 2018 and 2019 predate June 2020 incorporation; a further graphic claims 50 years experience against 5 years trading. FAQ states sales are private; reviewers across three platforms describe public listings.
Financial position
Reported turnover: Most recent accounts show assets of £260,754. Dormant accounts filed 2020-2023.
The question this section answers: can this company complete at the figure it offers?
Credentials
| Sold in a Day | My Homebuyers | |
|---|---|---|
| NAPB | Not a member (NAPB register, re-check on day of writing) | Membership number 66 |
What they pay — and a percentage of what?
What they publish. Published price position: Homepage illustration implies ~80%; FAQ says up to 85%; no explicit discount stated. Fees: No fees claimed. Legal fees: Yes if using their nominated solicitor; seller pays if using their own.
The denominator question. A percentage of market value only means something if you know
whose valuation of market value. 85% of a company’s own desktop estimate can be less money
than 80% of an independent estate agent valuation.
Their described valuation approach: Not published – unclear whether estate agent valuation, RICS survey or internal assessment. Nothing in the material we reviewed (August 2026) states whose valuation of market value any percentage figure applies to — the figure is produced by their own process, which is exactly why the question matters.
Our 80% is based on what we genuinely believe your property could sell for on the open market in current conditions, using comparable sales, market data and evidence from local estate agents. How our figure is set.
Initial offer versus final offer. Reported in public reviews: Reviewers cite 75-85%; one reports a reduction from £250k to £200k. Complaint themes: Offers below market value (75-85%); offers withdrawn after weeks of waiting; late reductions; completion dates set by the company rather than the seller; poor post-offer communication.
We agree our offer based on the information available at the time and aim to complete at that price. We don't use a higher initial offer to secure the property and then reduce it later without good reason.
What you’re asked to sign, and when
Their standard seller terms were not published in the material we reviewed (August 2026). A company that does not publish what it asks sellers to sign leaves you one option: request the documents in writing before your first phone call, and read them against the question below. If they publish or provide their terms, this section will be updated and the change logged. (Their published terms as archived 1 August 2026.)
The question to ask them before your first phone call, in writing:
“Will I be asked to sign anything before exchange of contracts — an
exclusivity period, option agreement, or anything with a withdrawal fee? If so, please send it now.”
We never ask you to sign anything before exchange of contracts. No exclusivity period, no option
agreement, no lock-in, no fees if you walk away. Until the day you exchange, you can talk to anyone,
accept any offer, and leave at any point — it costs you nothing.
Our terms, in full.
How long they take
Published timescale: 7 days or less claimed; unclear whether this covers the whole process. Their described process: Contact for free quote, home visit to assess (visitor role not specified), offer, solicitor appointed by company, exchange on a date said to suit the seller.
As little as 14 working days, or anytime thereafter to suit your circumstances.
Public review profile
Figures as recorded in our dataset (August 2026): Trustpilot 4.4/5; Google 4.2/5. Note: NAME COLLISION: markets on the open market as Ready Steady Sold – NOT the same company as Ready Steady Sell in this dataset. Do not merge rows. TPO listing is as an estate agency at minimum legal requirement, not buyer accreditation – do not render as a plain Yes. Source reproduces reviewer quotes incl. personal health detail and speculates on review authenticity – excluded from editorial. (Figures recorded 1 August 2026.)
Side by side
| Sold in a Day | My Homebuyers | |
|---|---|---|
| Business model | Hybrid / agency (disputed) | Direct Cash House Buyer |
| Buys with own funds | Unclear – no evidence of purchase capacity in filings | Yes |
| Published % of market value | Homepage illustration implies ~80%; FAQ says up to 85%; no explicit discount stated | 80% |
| % of what — denominator stated? | Not stated | Expected sale price — based on comparable sales and current market data |
| Fees to seller | No fees claimed | No Fess |
| Anything to sign before exchange? | Not stated | Nothing to sign |
| Typical timescale | 7 days or less claimed; unclear whether this covers the whole process | Typically 14 working days, or anytime thereafter |
| Offer held to completion | Not published; reductions reported in reviews — see pay section | Yes — held to completion |
| Who makes the offer decision | Not stated | Company Director |
| Coverage | Not stated | National |
| NAPB | Not a member (NAPB register, re-check on day of writing) | Member |
| TPO | Not stated | Member |
| Company age | June 2020 per Companies House | 10 years |
Where they beat us
- Reviewers report completions in 2-4 weeks
- named staff repeatedly praised for proactive communication
- sellers who had failed sales elsewhere describe a reliable alternative
Who they’re right for — and who should look elsewhere
Right for you if: Speed of sale 2-4 weeks; high-quality communication from named staff; stress reduction after failed sales elsewhere.
Look elsewhere if: Filed accounts show assets of £260,754, insufficient to purchase a single average-priced UK property, against claims of buying 700+ properties a year and spending £94m; dormant accounts filed 2020-2023; award-style graphics dated 2018 and 2019 predate the June 2020 incorporation, and a….
One structural difference worth knowing about, whoever you sell to.
At larger operators like Sold in a Day, the offer comes out of a pricing and underwriting process, and the person you speak to is rarely the person who decides. We’re small — the director who makes the offer is the person who answers the phone, and the name at the bottom of this page is the name on your paperwork. Small also means we sometimes say no: we can only buy so many houses at once, and we’d rather decline than offer a figure we’d renegotiate later.
How to check any cash buyer yourself — including us
Four checks that take twenty minutes: confirm the legal entity on Companies House and match it to the name on
anything you’re asked to sign; check The Property Ombudsman and NAPB registers directly rather than trusting
logos; ask “a percentage of what figure, and who sets it?” before discussing the percentage itself;
and ask, in writing, what you’ll be asked to sign before exchange.
The full method.
Right of reply and corrections
Sold in a Day: if anything on this page is inaccurate, email
contact@myhomebuyers.co.uk. We’ll verify and correct
within five working days, and log the change below with the date. We’ll publish a response from you alongside
this assessment if you want one.
| Date | Change | Raised by |
|---|---|---|
| — | No corrections to date | — |
Questions people ask about Sold in a Day
Is Sold in a Day a genuine cash buyer?
Sold in a Day describes itself as hybrid / agency (disputed). On funding, their position is: unclear – no evidence of purchase capacity in filings. The reliable test is not the label but the paperwork: ask which registered company would be the buyer on your contract, and ask for proof of funds.
How much does Sold in a Day pay — and of what valuation?
Their published position is homepage illustration implies ~80%; FAQ says up to 85%; no explicit discount stated. Whatever figure is quoted, ask the question their material does not answer: a percentage of what valuation, and who sets it? Our own answer to that question is on our what-we-pay page.
Does Sold in a Day ask you to sign anything before exchange?
Their standard seller terms are not published, so ask them directly and in writing before proceeding: will you be asked to sign anything before exchange — an exclusivity period, an option agreement, or anything with a withdrawal fee? We ask you to sign nothing before exchange, and our terms page says so in writing.
How long does Sold in a Day take?
7 days or less claimed; unclear whether this covers the whole process. Treat headline speed as the fastest case, not the typical one.
Does Sold in a Day charge fees?
No fees claimed Legal fees: Yes if using their nominated solicitor; seller pays if using their own.
Is Sold in a Day a member of the NAPB?
Not a member (NAPB register, re-check on day of writing). Membership is checkable in minutes: search the NAPB member list directly rather than relying on logos, and do the same on The Property Ombudsman register.
What happened to Sold in a Day?
STRONGEST CITABLE POINTS, all checkable: (1) £260,754 assets vs claim of 700+ purchases a year – arithmetically impossible, (2) award graphics dated 2018/2019 predate June 2020 incorporation; 50-years-experience graphic vs 5 years trading, (3) TPO….
