SmoothSale Reviews

Company assessment — by a competitor

SmoothSale holds both main memberships, uses real estate agent valuations rather than an algorithm, and has strong scores on both platforms. The thing to understand before approaching them is where the purchase money comes from.

Published August 29, 2026 ·
Last reviewed September 3, 2026

The short version

The funding structure is the substantive point, and it is checkable. Where a company buys using a secured loan from a finance provider, that lender has to approve the advance and satisfy itself the property covers the debt. That adds a decision-maker between you and completion, and it is a different proposition from a company paying out of its own reserves, however similar the marketing sounds. It does not make the company disreputable, and the valuation method here is better than most of the sector. But it does mean the guarantee is only as firm as the lender's approval. Ask what happens to your completion date if the finance is delayed. On process quality this is one of the better operators reviewed here. Two local agent valuations is a genuinely more defensible method than an algorithm or a desk estimate, and the feedback on staff conduct is consistent and warm. Two things to settle before signing. Ask what the paperwork at step two actually is, because you are being asked to sign it before the final offer exists, and anything creating exclusivity restricts your options at exactly the point the price may move. And ask directly whether the purchase is funded internally or through a lender, because the answer changes what a guaranteed sale means.

Who they actually are

Source: Companies House, checked 29 August 2026
Legal entity PLH Capital Limited (SmoothSale is a trading name)
Company number 13115021
Incorporated 5 January 2021
Registered office First Floor, Limewood House, 2 Limewood Way, Leeds LS14 1AB
Controlling owner Three active persons with significant control recorded at Companies House
Latest accounts To 29 January 2025 filed; next accounts due 29 October 2026

What this means in plain terms. Markets a guaranteed cash sale; filings indicate purchases are funded by third-party secured lending rather than own reserves. Companies House shows 74 charges registered against PLH Capital Limited (9 outstanding, 65 satisfied as at August 2026), including recent charges to a property finance lender — a pattern consistent with purchases financed by secured lending, which is worth reading alongside any cash-buyer positioning.

Financial position

Reported turnover: Not published – small company exemption.

The question this section answers: can this company complete at the figure it offers?

Credentials

Checked directly against each register, 29 August 2026
SmoothSale My Homebuyers
The Property Ombudsman Listed on The Property Ombudsman business register under PLH Capital Limited Registered as My Homebuyers
NAPB Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing) Membership number 66

What they pay — and a percentage of what?

What they publish. Published price position: Not published. Fees: No fees or hidden costs claimed. Legal fees: Yes per website.

The denominator question. A percentage of market value only means something if you know
whose valuation of market value. 85% of a company’s own desktop estimate can be less money
than 80% of an independent estate agent valuation.

Their described valuation approach: Qualified valuation company arranging two local estate agent valuations. Nothing in the material we reviewed (August 2026) states whose valuation of market value any percentage figure applies to — the figure is produced by their own process, which is exactly why the question matters.

Our answer to the same question

Our 80% is based on what we genuinely believe your property could sell for on the open market in current conditions, using comparable sales, market data and evidence from local estate agents. How our figure is set.

Initial offer versus final offer. Reported in public reviews: One review reports final offer far below the initial estimate. Complaint themes: Devaluation after survey; confusion between direct buyer and middleman; exclusivity agreements; property marketing against stated privacy preferences.

Our comparable, from our completions data

We agree our offer based on the information available at the time and aim to complete at that price. We don't use a higher initial offer to secure the property and then reduce it later without good reason.

What you’re asked to sign, and when

In the material we reviewed (August 2026): Reported – exclusivity agreements mentioned by reviewers; website refers to simple paperwork before final offer. Get the specific documents in writing before your first call, and check every clause against the question below. (Their published terms as archived 1 August 2026.)

The question to ask them before your first phone call, in writing:

“Will I be asked to sign anything before exchange of contracts — an
exclusivity period, option agreement, or anything with a withdrawal fee? If so, please send it now.”

Our position on the same question

We never ask you to sign anything before exchange of contracts. No exclusivity period, no option
agreement, no lock-in, no fees if you walk away. Until the day you exchange, you can talk to anyone,
accept any offer, and leave at any point — it costs you nothing.
Our terms, in full.

How long they take

Published timescale: As little as 7 days; timescale to suit seller. Their described process: Form or call, indicative cash offer verbally and in writing, basic checks plus paperwork and solicitor instructed, valuation company visit, final offer confirmed, exchange, seller picks completion date.

Our comparable, method stated

As little as 14 working days, or anytime thereafter to suit your circumstances.

Public review profile

Figures as recorded in our dataset (August 2026): Trustpilot 4.7/5; Google 4.7/5. (Figures recorded 1 August 2026.)

Side by side

Same rows, same order, on every assessment we publish
SmoothSale My Homebuyers
Business model Hybrid Direct Cash House Buyer
Buys with own funds Third-party finance – Schneider Property Finance Limited, visible as charges on Companies House Yes
Published % of market value Not stated 80%
% of what — denominator stated? Not stated Expected sale price — based on comparable sales and current market data
Fees to seller No fees or hidden costs claimed No Fess
Anything to sign before exchange? Pre-exchange agreement reported — see contracts section Nothing to sign
Typical timescale As little as 7 days; timescale to suit seller Typically 14 working days, or anytime thereafter
Offer held to completion Not published; reductions reported in reviews — see pay section Yes — held to completion
Who makes the offer decision Not stated Company Director
Coverage Not stated National
NAPB Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing) Member
TPO Listed on The Property Ombudsman business register under PLH Capital Limited Member
Company age PLH Capital Ltd incorporated January 2021 10 years

Where they beat us

  1. registration number published
  2. valuation via two local estate agents rather than desk estimate
  3. Greater purchasing capacity — a larger operation can take on more purchases at once than we can

Who they’re right for — and who should look elsewhere

Right for you if: Exceptional staff rapport in probate and divorce cases; transparent explanation of the process; relentless sales progression saving onward purchases.

Look elsewhere if: Purchases funded by third-party secured lending rather than own cash; no published discount level; paperwork requested before final offer confirmed; exclusivity agreements reported; indicative offer reduced after survey; investor marketing service questioned by reviewers.

One structural difference worth knowing about, whoever you sell to.
At larger operators like SmoothSale, the offer comes out of a pricing and underwriting process, and the person you speak to is rarely the person who decides. We’re small — the director who makes the offer is the person who answers the phone, and the name at the bottom of this page is the name on your paperwork. Small also means we sometimes say no: we can only buy so many houses at once, and we’d rather decline than offer a figure we’d renegotiate later.

How to check any cash buyer yourself — including us

Four checks that take twenty minutes: confirm the legal entity on Companies House and match it to the name on
anything you’re asked to sign; check The Property Ombudsman and NAPB registers directly rather than trusting
logos; ask “a percentage of what figure, and who sets it?” before discussing the percentage itself;
and ask, in writing, what you’ll be asked to sign before exchange.
The full method.

Right of reply and corrections

SmoothSale: if anything on this page is inaccurate, email
contact@myhomebuyers.co.uk. We’ll verify and correct
within five working days, and log the change below with the date. We’ll publish a response from you alongside
this assessment if you want one.

Corrections log
Date Change Raised by
No corrections to date

Questions people ask about SmoothSale

Is SmoothSale a genuine cash buyer?

SmoothSale describes itself as hybrid. On funding, their position is: third-party finance – Schneider Property Finance Limited, visible as charges on Companies House. The reliable test is not the label but the paperwork: ask which registered company would be the buyer on your contract, and ask for proof of funds.

How much does SmoothSale pay — and of what valuation?

They do not publish a specific percentage of market value. Whatever figure is quoted, ask the question their material does not answer: a percentage of what valuation, and who sets it? Our own answer to that question is on our what-we-pay page.

Does SmoothSale ask you to sign anything before exchange?

The material we reviewed indicates paperwork before exchange — see the contracts section above for exactly what. Ask for every document in writing before your first call, and check it for exclusivity periods, option agreements and withdrawal fees. We ask you to sign nothing before exchange.

How long does SmoothSale take?

As little as 7 days; timescale to suit seller. Treat headline speed as the fastest case, not the typical one.

Does SmoothSale charge fees?

No fees or hidden costs claimed Legal fees: Yes per website.

Is SmoothSale a member of the NAPB?

Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing). Membership is checkable in minutes: search the NAPB member list directly rather than relying on logos, and do the same on The Property Ombudsman register.

What happened to SmoothSale?

STRONGEST CITABLE POINT: funding via Schneider Property Finance Limited is visible as a charge on the Companies House record – checkable, and materially changes what certainty they can offer. Paperwork and solicitor instruction happen BEFORE the….

Kelvin Elliott is Managing Director of My Homebuyers. Twenty years in UK property —
mortgage brokerage, estate agency, development and direct acquisition. Kelvin makes every offer
My Homebuyers issues.

My Homebuyers competes with SmoothSale, which is
why this page opens with a disclosure.

Sources: Companies House (company 13115021); The Property Ombudsman and NAPB registers; Trustpilot and Google review platforms (figures recorded August 2026); the company’s own published material as reviewed August 2026.

My Homebuyers figures last verified 28 August 2026.