Open Property Group Reviews

Company assessment — by a competitor

Open Property Group buys the properties most companies in this sector turn away, including those with sitting tenants and short leases. That is a genuine specialism. The corporate structure behind it is harder to follow.

Published August 29, 2026 ·
Last reviewed September 3, 2026

The short version

The specialism is the reason to consider this company. Sitting tenants, short leases and structural defects are exactly the situations where high street agents struggle and most quick-sale buyers decline, and reviewers confirm the company handles them. The price integrity reported in successful cases is also notable given how common late reductions are elsewhere. Set against that, the most consistent criticism is not about price but about silence after acceptance, with several sellers describing weeks without contact and one describing months. For a seller working to a deadline, that is the risk to plan around. For a difficult property, this is one of the more credible options available, and the pricing conduct reported by successful sellers is better than much of the sector. Two things to establish first. Ask which company you would actually be contracting with, given the entity the brand trades under differs from the one carrying the name. And agree a communication schedule in writing at the point you accept, because that is where the reported problems cluster.

Who they actually are

Source: Companies House
Legal entity Brand appears to now trade via Open Property Finance; original entity filed dormant accounts
Incorporated Website says 2014; Companies House says incorporated 2016 (per old dataset — verify at Companies House)

What this means in plain terms. Website indicates established 2014; Companies House shows 2016. Named company filed dormant accounts while the brand trades via a separate entity.

Financial position

Reported turnover: Group turnover £9.4m; property-buying share unclear.

The question this section answers: can this company complete at the figure it offers?

Credentials

Checked directly against each register
Open Property Group My Homebuyers
The Property Ombudsman Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing) Registered as My Homebuyers
NAPB Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing) Membership number 66

What they pay — and a percentage of what?

What they publish. Published price position: Up to 85%. Fees: No fees; profit made via below-market purchase. Legal fees: Yes per website.

The denominator question. A percentage of market value only means something if you know
whose valuation of market value. 85% of a company’s own desktop estimate can be less money
than 80% of an independent estate agent valuation.

Their described valuation approach: Not published; visit or video walkthrough used but assessor qualifications not stated. Nothing in the material we reviewed (August 2026) states whose valuation of market value any percentage figure applies to — the figure is produced by their own process, which is exactly why the question matters.

Our answer to the same question

Our 80% is based on what we genuinely believe your property could sell for on the open market in current conditions, using comparable sales, market data and evidence from local estate agents. How our figure is set.

Initial offer versus final offer. Complaint themes: Going quiet for weeks after offer accepted; transactions dragging to 6+ months; review base skewed to enquiry-stage and older reviews.

Our comparable, from our completions data

We agree our offer based on the information available at the time and aim to complete at that price. We don't use a higher initial offer to secure the property and then reduce it later without good reason.

What you’re asked to sign, and when

Their standard seller terms were not published in the material we reviewed (August 2026). A company that does not publish what it asks sellers to sign leaves you one option: request the documents in writing before your first phone call, and read them against the question below. If they publish or provide their terms, this section will be updated and the change logged. (Their published terms as archived 1 August 2026.)

The question to ask them before your first phone call, in writing:

“Will I be asked to sign anything before exchange of contracts — an
exclusivity period, option agreement, or anything with a withdrawal fee? If so, please send it now.”

Our position on the same question

We never ask you to sign anything before exchange of contracts. No exclusivity period, no option
agreement, no lock-in, no fees if you walk away. Until the day you exchange, you can talk to anyone,
accept any offer, and leave at any point — it costs you nothing.
Our terms, in full.

How long they take

Published timescale: Standard 28 days; 14 days if needed. Some reviews report 6+ months. Their described process: Instant cash offer at enquiry, property visit or video walkthrough or photos, choose move-out date, completion.

Our comparable, method stated

As little as 14 working days, or anytime thereafter to suit your circumstances.

Public review profile

Figures as recorded in our dataset (August 2026): Trustpilot 4.3/5; Google 3.8/5. Negative-review response rate 100%. Review removal activity: 4 requested; all 4 rejected by Trustpilot. (Figures recorded 1 August 2026.)

Side by side

Same rows, same order, on every assessment we publish
Open Property Group My Homebuyers
Business model Direct buyer Direct Cash House Buyer
Buys with own funds Own funds / group Yes
Published % of market value Up to 85% 80%
% of what — denominator stated? Not stated Expected sale price — based on comparable sales and current market data
Fees to seller No fees; profit made via below-market purchase No Fess
Anything to sign before exchange? Not stated Nothing to sign
Typical timescale Standard 28 days; 14 days if needed. Some reviews report 6+ months Typically 14 working days, or anytime thereafter
Offer held to completion Not stated Yes — held to completion
Who makes the offer decision Not stated Company Director
Coverage Not stated National
NAPB Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing) Member
TPO Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing) Member
Company age Website says 2014; Companies House says incorporated 2016 10 years

Where they beat us

  1. buys difficult assets including sitting tenants, short leases and structural issues
  2. reviewers report price held from offer to completion
  3. A longer corporate track record than ours — the entity behind the brand has been on the register since 2014

Who they’re right for — and who should look elsewhere

Right for you if: Specialist expertise with difficult properties; personalised service with named senior staff; reliable pricing with no late reductions in successful cases.

Look elsewhere if: Registration number not published; original entity filed dormant accounts while brand trades via another company; establishment date inconsistent between website and Companies House; low review volume; communication gaps reported after offer acceptance.

One structural difference worth knowing about, whoever you sell to.
At larger operators like Open Property Group, the offer comes out of a pricing and underwriting process, and the person you speak to is rarely the person who decides. We’re small — the director who makes the offer is the person who answers the phone, and the name at the bottom of this page is the name on your paperwork. Small also means we sometimes say no: we can only buy so many houses at once, and we’d rather decline than offer a figure we’d renegotiate later.

How to check any cash buyer yourself — including us

Four checks that take twenty minutes: confirm the legal entity on Companies House and match it to the name on
anything you’re asked to sign; check The Property Ombudsman and NAPB registers directly rather than trusting
logos; ask “a percentage of what figure, and who sets it?” before discussing the percentage itself;
and ask, in writing, what you’ll be asked to sign before exchange.
The full method.

Right of reply and corrections

Open Property Group: if anything on this page is inaccurate, email
contact@myhomebuyers.co.uk. We’ll verify and correct
within five working days, and log the change below with the date. We’ll publish a response from you alongside
this assessment if you want one.

Corrections log
Date Change Raised by
No corrections to date

Questions people ask about Open Property Group

Is Open Property Group a genuine cash buyer?

Open Property Group describes itself as direct buyer. On funding, their position is: own funds / group. The reliable test is not the label but the paperwork: ask which registered company would be the buyer on your contract, and ask for proof of funds.

How much does Open Property Group pay — and of what valuation?

Their published position is up to 85%. Whatever figure is quoted, ask the question their material does not answer: a percentage of what valuation, and who sets it? Our own answer to that question is on our what-we-pay page.

Does Open Property Group ask you to sign anything before exchange?

Their standard seller terms are not published, so ask them directly and in writing before proceeding: will you be asked to sign anything before exchange — an exclusivity period, an option agreement, or anything with a withdrawal fee? We ask you to sign nothing before exchange, and our terms page says so in writing.

How long does Open Property Group take?

Standard 28 days; 14 days if needed. Some reviews report 6+ months. Treat headline speed as the fastest case, not the typical one.

Does Open Property Group charge fees?

No fees; profit made via below-market purchase Legal fees: Yes per website.

Is Open Property Group a member of the NAPB?

Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing). Membership is checkable in minutes: search the NAPB member list directly rather than relying on logos, and do the same on The Property Ombudsman register.

What happened to Open Property Group?

Corporate structure opacity is the standout issue: named company filed dormant accounts while brand operates through a separate entity. Sitting-tenant capability is a genuine niche differentiator.

Kelvin Elliott is Managing Director of My Homebuyers. Twenty years in UK property —
mortgage brokerage, estate agency, development and direct acquisition. Kelvin makes every offer
My Homebuyers issues.

My Homebuyers competes with Open Property Group, which is
why this page opens with a disclosure.

Sources: Companies House; The Property Ombudsman and NAPB registers; Trustpilot and Google review platforms (figures recorded August 2026); the company’s own published material as reviewed August 2026.

My Homebuyers figures last verified 28 August 2026.