Company assessment — by a competitor
National Homebuyers is one of the longer-established names in the UK quick-sale market. This page sets out what they say they offer, what their published record shows, and where sellers have reported problems, so you can judge whether they fit your situation.
Published August 29, 2026 ·
Last reviewed September 3, 2026
The short version
The central issue with National Homebuyers is the order in which they do things. Because the opening offer is produced without anyone visiting the property, it rests on general market data and the seller's own description of condition. Those are exactly the inputs most likely to be revised once a surveyor attends, which is consistent with the pattern of late reductions that appears across their negative reviews. Sellers who need a dependable figure to plan an onward purchase should treat the first number as provisional and ask what specifically would cause it to change. For a seller who is flexible on price and values a long-standing operator, this is a credible option. For anyone budgeting tightly against the opening offer, the absence of a pre-offer inspection is a real risk. The lack of NAPB or TPO membership also means there is no voluntary redress route if something goes wrong, which is worth weighing in an unregulated market.
Who they actually are
| Legal entity | Momentum Asset Management Ltd t/a National Homebuyers (per site footer). A separate NATIONAL HOMEBUYERS LIMITED (05857934, inc. 26 June 2006) also exists and appears dormant/name-holding |
|---|---|
| Company number | 05261089 (trading entity, per site footer) |
| Incorporated | Trading entity; NATIONAL HOMEBUYERS LIMITED inc. 26 June 2006 |
| Registered office | Sterling House, 20 Victoria Way, Burgess Hill, West Sussex RH15 9NF |
What this means in plain terms. The brand name and the entity contracting with sellers are different names — the footer entity (Momentum Asset Management Ltd) is the one to check against anything you sign.
Financial position
Reported turnover: £22m across company group (unclear how much from direct property buying/selling).
The question this section answers: can this company complete at the figure it offers?
Credentials
| National Homebuyers | My Homebuyers | |
|---|---|---|
| The Property Ombudsman | Not a member (TPO register, re-check on day of writing) | Registered as My Homebuyers |
| NAPB | Not a member (NAPB register, re-check on day of writing) | Membership number 66 |
| Property Redress Scheme | Not found on PRS register (re-check) | TPO Member |
What they pay — and a percentage of what?
What they publish. Published price position: Not published. Fees: Website says no fees; reviews report upfront valuation fee reported £200-£500. Legal fees: Up to £1,000 contribution if exchange within 30 days of acceptance.
The denominator question. A percentage of market value only means something if you know
whose valuation of market value. 85% of a company’s own desktop estimate can be less money
than 80% of an independent estate agent valuation.
Their described valuation approach: Market research plus local estate agents and surveyors; representative visits after offer accepted. Nothing in the material we reviewed (August 2026) states whose valuation of market value any percentage figure applies to — the figure is produced by their own process, which is exactly why the question matters.
Our 80% is based on what we genuinely believe your property could sell for on the open market in current conditions, using comparable sales, market data and evidence from local estate agents. How our figure is set.
Initial offer versus final offer. Reported in public reviews: One review reports drop from 80% to 45% of valuation. Complaint themes: Late price reductions (10-25%); upfront valuation fees; review-suppression allegations; initial over-valuation.
We agree our offer based on the information available at the time and aim to complete at that price. We don't use a higher initial offer to secure the property and then reduce it later without good reason.
What you’re asked to sign, and when
Their standard seller terms were not published in the material we reviewed (August 2026). A company that does not publish what it asks sellers to sign leaves you one option: request the documents in writing before your first phone call, and read them against the question below. If they publish or provide their terms, this section will be updated and the change logged. (Their published terms as archived 1 August 2026.)
The question to ask them before your first phone call, in writing:
“Will I be asked to sign anything before exchange of contracts — an
exclusivity period, option agreement, or anything with a withdrawal fee? If so, please send it now.”
We never ask you to sign anything before exchange of contracts. No exclusivity period, no option
agreement, no lock-in, no fees if you walk away. Until the day you exchange, you can talk to anyone,
accept any offer, and leave at any point — it costs you nothing.
Our terms, in full.
How long they take
Published timescale: ~4 weeks full process; offer within ~7 days. Their described process: Offer made before internal inspection; survey after acceptance; 14 days to accept.
As little as 14 working days, or anytime thereafter to suit your circumstances.
Public review profile
Figures as recorded in our dataset (August 2026): Trustpilot 4.3/5 from 490 reviews; Google 4.3/5 from 180 reviews. Negative-review response rate 97%. Review removal activity: 30 requested; 25 rejected; 4 removed no reviewer response; 1 removed guideline breach. Note: Source page showed 4.0 in heading and 4.3 in body for Trustpilot, and 3.9 vs 4.3 for Google. Neither verified. (Figures recorded 1 August 2026.)
Side by side
| National Homebuyers | My Homebuyers | |
|---|---|---|
| Business model | Direct buyer | Direct Cash House Buyer |
| Buys with own funds | Own funds | Yes |
| Published % of market value | Not stated | 80% |
| % of what — denominator stated? | Not stated | Expected sale price — based on comparable sales and current market data |
| Fees to seller | Website says no fees; reviews report upfront valuation fee reported £200-£500 | No Fess |
| Anything to sign before exchange? | Not stated | Nothing to sign |
| Typical timescale | ~4 weeks full process; offer within ~7 days | Typically 14 working days, or anytime thereafter |
| Offer held to completion | Not published; reductions reported in reviews — see pay section | Yes — held to completion |
| Who makes the offer decision | Not stated | Company Director |
| Coverage | Not stated | National |
| NAPB | Not a member (NAPB register, re-check on day of writing) | Member |
| TPO | Not a member (TPO register, re-check on day of writing) | Member |
| Company age | Since 2004 | 10 years |
Where they beat us
- One of the longest-standing brands in the sector, trading since the mid-2000s — a longer brand history than ours
- National brand recognition and marketing reach well beyond our footprint
- A larger operation with more purchasing capacity than we have
Who they’re right for — and who should look elsewhere
Right for you if: Speed of sale (7-21 days); staff professionalism; ease of process; legal fee contribution.
Look elsewhere if: Last-minute offer reductions; offer made before internal inspection; no redress scheme membership.
One structural difference worth knowing about, whoever you sell to.
At larger operators like National Homebuyers, the offer comes out of a pricing and underwriting process, and the person you speak to is rarely the person who decides. We’re small — the director who makes the offer is the person who answers the phone, and the name at the bottom of this page is the name on your paperwork. Small also means we sometimes say no: we can only buy so many houses at once, and we’d rather decline than offer a figure we’d renegotiate later.
How to check any cash buyer yourself — including us
Four checks that take twenty minutes: confirm the legal entity on Companies House and match it to the name on
anything you’re asked to sign; check The Property Ombudsman and NAPB registers directly rather than trusting
logos; ask “a percentage of what figure, and who sets it?” before discussing the percentage itself;
and ask, in writing, what you’ll be asked to sign before exchange.
The full method.
Right of reply and corrections
National Homebuyers: if anything on this page is inaccurate, email
contact@myhomebuyers.co.uk. We’ll verify and correct
within five working days, and log the change below with the date. We’ll publish a response from you alongside
this assessment if you want one.
| Date | Change | Raised by |
|---|---|---|
| — | No corrections to date | — |
Questions people ask about National Homebuyers
Is National Homebuyers a genuine cash buyer?
National Homebuyers describes itself as direct buyer. On funding, their position is: own funds. The reliable test is not the label but the paperwork: ask which registered company would be the buyer on your contract, and ask for proof of funds.
How much does National Homebuyers pay — and of what valuation?
They do not publish a specific percentage of market value. Whatever figure is quoted, ask the question their material does not answer: a percentage of what valuation, and who sets it? Our own answer to that question is on our what-we-pay page.
Does National Homebuyers ask you to sign anything before exchange?
Their standard seller terms are not published, so ask them directly and in writing before proceeding: will you be asked to sign anything before exchange — an exclusivity period, an option agreement, or anything with a withdrawal fee? We ask you to sign nothing before exchange, and our terms page says so in writing.
How long does National Homebuyers take?
~4 weeks full process; offer within ~7 days. Treat headline speed as the fastest case, not the typical one.
Does National Homebuyers charge fees?
Website says no fees; reviews report upfront valuation fee reported £200-£500 Legal fees: Up to £1,000 contribution if exchange within 30 days of acceptance.
Is National Homebuyers a member of the NAPB?
Not a member (NAPB register, re-check on day of writing). Membership is checkable in minutes: search the NAPB member list directly rather than relying on logos, and do the same on The Property Ombudsman register.
What happened to National Homebuyers?
Appeared on BBC Watchdog mid-2000s.

