HouseBuyers4u Reviews

Company assessment — by a competitor

HouseBuyers4u scores 4.8 on both major review platforms and holds both main memberships. It also declines to publish the name of the company you would actually be selling to.

Published August 29, 2026 ·
Last reviewed September 3, 2026

The short version

The accreditation is real and the feedback on staff conduct is consistent, but the transparency gaps are unusual for a company that holds both memberships. Not publishing the registered company name means a seller cannot run the most basic check available to them. The referral point deserves attention too: the company has acknowledged passing seller details to auction partners. That may be entirely appropriate with consent, but a company earning from a referral has an interest in the route it recommends, and you should know that before taking its advice on options. There is a real business here with genuine accreditation, and the service at enquiry stage is well regarded. The issues are about what you can verify rather than what reviewers report. Ask for the registered company name and number so you can check the filings yourself, ask which discount figure is correct, and ask whether your details will be passed to any third party. If a company will not answer those three questions plainly, that answer is itself informative.

Who they actually are

Source: Companies House, checked 29 August 2026
Legal entity Buy-Investment-Properties Limited (HouseBuyers4u is a trading name)
Company number 06456493
Incorporated 18 December 2007
Registered office 9 Park Square East, Leeds LS1 2LH
Latest accounts To 23 December 2025 filed; next accounts due 29 September 2026

What this means in plain terms. Claims to have helped 100,000+ homeowners, unsupported by filings or review volume. Registered company name absent from website. Two London addresses listed while filings indicate Leeds. Discount stated as up to 90% and up to 85% on the same page.

Financial position

Reported turnover: Not published – small company exemption.

The question this section answers: can this company complete at the figure it offers?

Credentials

Checked directly against each register
HouseBuyers4u My Homebuyers
The Property Ombudsman Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing) Registered as My Homebuyers
NAPB Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing) Membership number 66

What they pay — and a percentage of what?

What they publish. Published price position: Up to 90% (body); FAQ states up to 85%. Fees: No cost claimed. Legal fees: Yes per website.

The denominator question. A percentage of market value only means something if you know
whose valuation of market value. 85% of a company’s own desktop estimate can be less money
than 80% of an independent estate agent valuation.

Their described valuation approach: Assessment of size, location, condition plus market data and comparables; valuer not identified. Nothing in the material we reviewed (August 2026) states whose valuation of market value any percentage figure applies to — the figure is produced by their own process, which is exactly why the question matters.

Our answer to the same question

Our 80% is based on what we genuinely believe your property could sell for on the open market in current conditions, using comparable sales, market data and evidence from local estate agents. How our figure is set.

Initial offer versus final offer. Complaint themes: Initial offers lowered after survey or internal review; reviews weighted to enquiry stage; sellers contacted by third-party auction partners after enquiry.

Our comparable, from our completions data

We agree our offer based on the information available at the time and aim to complete at that price. We don't use a higher initial offer to secure the property and then reduce it later without good reason.

What you’re asked to sign, and when

Their standard seller terms were not published in the material we reviewed (August 2026). A company that does not publish what it asks sellers to sign leaves you one option: request the documents in writing before your first phone call, and read them against the question below. If they publish or provide their terms, this section will be updated and the change logged. (Their published terms as archived 1 August 2026.)

The question to ask them before your first phone call, in writing:

“Will I be asked to sign anything before exchange of contracts — an
exclusivity period, option agreement, or anything with a withdrawal fee? If so, please send it now.”

Our position on the same question

We never ask you to sign anything before exchange of contracts. No exclusivity period, no option
agreement, no lock-in, no fees if you walk away. Until the day you exchange, you can talk to anyone,
accept any offer, and leave at any point — it costs you nothing.
Our terms, in full.

How long they take

Published timescale: 7-14 days. Their described process: Call or online form, cash offer in principle, independent third-party valuation, written formal offer, progress to completion.

Our comparable, method stated

As little as 14 working days, or anytime thereafter to suit your circumstances.

Public review profile

Figures as recorded in our dataset (August 2026): Trustpilot 4.8/5; Google 4.8/5. Negative-review response rate 3%. Review removal activity: 1 requested; rejected by Trustpilot. Note: Source page gave up to 90% in body and up to 85% in FAQ for the discount. Both unverified. (Figures recorded 1 August 2026.)

Side by side

Same rows, same order, on every assessment we publish
HouseBuyers4u My Homebuyers
Business model Direct buyer Direct Cash House Buyer
Buys with own funds Own funds (small scale) Yes
Published % of market value Up to 90% (body); FAQ states up to 85% 80%
% of what — denominator stated? Not stated Expected sale price — based on comparable sales and current market data
Fees to seller No cost claimed No Fess
Anything to sign before exchange? Not stated Nothing to sign
Typical timescale 7-14 days Typically 14 working days, or anytime thereafter
Offer held to completion Not stated Yes — held to completion
Who makes the offer decision Not stated Company Director
Coverage Not stated National
NAPB Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing) Member
TPO Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing) Member
Company age Since 2007 10 years

Where they beat us

  1. accounts suggest funds available for some direct purchases
  2. strong scores on both platforms
  3. A longer corporate track record than ours — the entity behind the brand has been on the register since 2007

Who they’re right for — and who should look elsewhere

Right for you if: Good communication with named staff; no-pressure approach; process clarity in probate and divorce cases.

Look elsewhere if: Company registration number and registered name not published; two London addresses listed while filings indicate Leeds; claims of helping 100,000+ homeowners not supported by accounts or review volume; most reviews from enquiry stage not completed sales.

One structural difference worth knowing about, whoever you sell to.
At larger operators like HouseBuyers4u, the offer comes out of a pricing and underwriting process, and the person you speak to is rarely the person who decides. We’re small — the director who makes the offer is the person who answers the phone, and the name at the bottom of this page is the name on your paperwork. Small also means we sometimes say no: we can only buy so many houses at once, and we’d rather decline than offer a figure we’d renegotiate later.

How to check any cash buyer yourself — including us

Four checks that take twenty minutes: confirm the legal entity on Companies House and match it to the name on
anything you’re asked to sign; check The Property Ombudsman and NAPB registers directly rather than trusting
logos; ask “a percentage of what figure, and who sets it?” before discussing the percentage itself;
and ask, in writing, what you’ll be asked to sign before exchange.
The full method.

Right of reply and corrections

HouseBuyers4u: if anything on this page is inaccurate, email
contact@myhomebuyers.co.uk. We’ll verify and correct
within five working days, and log the change below with the date. We’ll publish a response from you alongside
this assessment if you want one.

Corrections log
Date Change Raised by
No corrections to date

Questions people ask about HouseBuyers4u

Is HouseBuyers4u a genuine cash buyer?

HouseBuyers4u describes itself as direct buyer. On funding, their position is: own funds (small scale). The reliable test is not the label but the paperwork: ask which registered company would be the buyer on your contract, and ask for proof of funds.

How much does HouseBuyers4u pay — and of what valuation?

Their published position is up to 90% (body); FAQ states up to 85%. Whatever figure is quoted, ask the question their material does not answer: a percentage of what valuation, and who sets it? Our own answer to that question is on our what-we-pay page.

Does HouseBuyers4u ask you to sign anything before exchange?

Their standard seller terms are not published, so ask them directly and in writing before proceeding: will you be asked to sign anything before exchange — an exclusivity period, an option agreement, or anything with a withdrawal fee? We ask you to sign nothing before exchange, and our terms page says so in writing.

How long does HouseBuyers4u take?

7-14 days. Treat headline speed as the fastest case, not the typical one.

Does HouseBuyers4u charge fees?

No cost claimed Legal fees: Yes per website.

Is HouseBuyers4u a member of the NAPB?

Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing). Membership is checkable in minutes: search the NAPB member list directly rather than relying on logos, and do the same on The Property Ombudsman register.

What happened to HouseBuyers4u?

Discount figure contradicts itself on the same page (90% vs 85%). Company acknowledged passing seller details to auction partners – referral arrangement worth flagging. Price cut-off for higher value homes not disclosed upfront per reviews.

Kelvin Elliott is Managing Director of My Homebuyers. Twenty years in UK property —
mortgage brokerage, estate agency, development and direct acquisition. Kelvin makes every offer
My Homebuyers issues.

My Homebuyers competes with HouseBuyers4u, which is
why this page opens with a disclosure.

Sources: Companies House (company 06456493); The Property Ombudsman and NAPB registers; Trustpilot and Google review platforms (figures recorded August 2026); the company’s own published material as reviewed August 2026.

My Homebuyers figures last verified 28 August 2026.