Goodmove Reviews

Company assessment — by a competitor

Goodmove is a well-resourced operator with proper accreditation, and it is unusually upfront that an offer can change after survey. It also uses one word on its website that does not stand up to checking.

Published August 29, 2026 ·
Last reviewed August 29, 2026

The short version

Two things sit oddly together here. The company tells sellers plainly that a survey may change the offer, which is good practice and rarer than it should be. It also describes itself as regulated, and that is not accurate for quick house sales. The sector has no statutory regulator. Membership of NAPB and TPO is voluntary, and any regulation the group holds relates to other activities such as agency or surveying. That distinction matters, because a seller who believes a regulator is standing behind the transaction may skip checks they would otherwise make. On capitalisation, accreditation and speed this operator performs well, and the willingness to state upfront that offers can move after survey is a genuine mark in its favour. The two things to pin down are which service you are actually getting, since a substantial share of cases appear to be introductions rather than purchases, and what the word regulated is doing on the website. Ask for that in writing.

Who they actually are

Source: Companies House, checked 29 August 2026
Legal entity ARN Capital Ltd (Good Move is a trading style)
Company number 09376775
Incorporated 7 January 2015
Previous names Good Move Syndicate Ltd (7 January 2015 – 6 August 2015)
Registered office Ground Floor, 4320 Park Approach, Thorpe Park, Leeds LS15 8GB
Directors Adam Joel Gilman, Nima Nasserghasri, David Ross Counsell (per Companies House)
Latest accounts To 31 March 2024 filed; accounts to 31 March 2025 due 31 December 2025

What this means in plain terms. Describes itself as a regulated property buyer. Quick house sales have no statutory regulator.

Financial position

Reported turnover: ARN Capital group £24.7m; Goodmove share unclear.

The question this section answers: can this company complete at the figure it offers?

Credentials

Checked directly against each register, 29 August 2026
Goodmove My Homebuyers
The Property Ombudsman Listed on The Property Ombudsman business register under ARN Capital Ltd, company 09376775 Registered as My Homebuyers
NAPB Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing) Membership number 66

What they pay — and a percentage of what?

What they publish. Published price position: Up to 85% (approx 15% below market value). Fees: No fees apparent. Legal fees: Yes with recommended solicitor; £500 contribution if using own.

The denominator question. A percentage of market value only means something if you know
whose valuation of market value. 85% of a company’s own desktop estimate can be less money
than 80% of an independent estate agent valuation.

Their described valuation approach: Seller info plus online research for offer in principle; estate agent or RICS surveyor thereafter. Nothing in the material we reviewed (August 2026) states whose valuation of market value any percentage figure applies to — the figure is produced by their own process, which is exactly why the question matters.

Our answer to the same question

Our 80% is based on what we genuinely believe your property could sell for on the open market in current conditions, using comparable sales, market data and evidence from local estate agents. How our figure is set.

Initial offer versus final offer. Reported in public reviews: 80-85% commonly cited in reviews. Complaint themes: Offers 80-85% surprising some sellers; reductions after RICS survey; little room for negotiation.

Our comparable, from our completions data

We agree our offer based on the information available at the time and aim to complete at that price. We don't use a higher initial offer to secure the property and then reduce it later without good reason.

What you’re asked to sign, and when

Their standard seller terms were not published in the material we reviewed (August 2026). A company that does not publish what it asks sellers to sign leaves you one option: request the documents in writing before your first phone call, and read them against the question below. If they publish or provide their terms, this section will be updated and the change logged. (Their published terms as archived 1 August 2026.)

The question to ask them before your first phone call, in writing:

“Will I be asked to sign anything before exchange of contracts — an
exclusivity period, option agreement, or anything with a withdrawal fee? If so, please send it now.”

Our position on the same question

We never ask you to sign anything before exchange of contracts. No exclusivity period, no option
agreement, no lock-in, no fees if you walk away. Until the day you exchange, you can talk to anyone,
accept any offer, and leave at any point — it costs you nothing.
Our terms, in full.

How long they take

Published timescale: Average 3 weeks direct; as little as 1 week in some cases; no published timescale for brokered route. Their described process: Postcode entry, contact, offer in principle within 24hrs, property assessment, formal offer, legal process. Company states offer may be amended or withdrawn after survey.

Our comparable, method stated

As little as 14 working days, or anytime thereafter to suit your circumstances.

Public review profile

Figures as recorded in our dataset (August 2026): Trustpilot 4.8/5; Google 4.7/5. Review removal activity: Source observed negative review count falling from ~50 to 17 between Jan 2024 and update – UNVERIFIED, cause unknown. Note: Source alleges review removal by the company. Unverified third-party allegation, excluded from editorial. Score may not be reliable. (Figures recorded 1 August 2026.)

Side by side

Same rows, same order, on every assessment we publish
Goodmove My Homebuyers
Business model Hybrid Direct Cash House Buyer
Buys with own funds Own funds / parent group Yes
Published % of market value Up to 85% (approx 15% below market value) 80%
% of what — denominator stated? Not stated Expected sale price — based on comparable sales and current market data
Fees to seller No fees apparent No Fess
Anything to sign before exchange? Not stated Nothing to sign
Typical timescale Average 3 weeks direct; as little as 1 week in some cases; no published… Typically 14 working days, or anytime thereafter
Offer held to completion Not published; reductions reported in reviews — see pay section Yes — held to completion
Who makes the offer decision Not stated Company Director
Coverage Not stated National
NAPB Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing) Member
TPO Listed on The Property Ombudsman business register under ARN Capital Ltd, company 09376775 Member
Company age Since 2015 10 years

Where they beat us

  1. parent company financially strong
  2. A longer corporate track record than ours — the entity behind the brand has been on the register since 2015
  3. Greater purchasing capacity — a larger operation can take on more purchases at once than we can

Who they’re right for — and who should look elsewhere

Right for you if: Staff empathy and responsiveness; completion in 2-4 weeks; clear early offer.

Look elsewhere if: Describes itself as regulated when the sector is unregulated; acts as broker in some cases; brokered route has no published timescale.

One structural difference worth knowing about, whoever you sell to.
At larger operators like Goodmove, the offer comes out of a pricing and underwriting process, and the person you speak to is rarely the person who decides. We’re small — the director who makes the offer is the person who answers the phone, and the name at the bottom of this page is the name on your paperwork. Small also means we sometimes say no: we can only buy so many houses at once, and we’d rather decline than offer a figure we’d renegotiate later.

How to check any cash buyer yourself — including us

Four checks that take twenty minutes: confirm the legal entity on Companies House and match it to the name on
anything you’re asked to sign; check The Property Ombudsman and NAPB registers directly rather than trusting
logos; ask “a percentage of what figure, and who sets it?” before discussing the percentage itself;
and ask, in writing, what you’ll be asked to sign before exchange.
The full method.

Right of reply and corrections

Goodmove: if anything on this page is inaccurate, email
contact@myhomebuyers.co.uk. We’ll verify and correct
within five working days, and log the change below with the date. We’ll publish a response from you alongside
this assessment if you want one.

Corrections log
Date Change Raised by
No corrections to date

Questions people ask about Goodmove

Is Goodmove a genuine cash buyer?

Goodmove describes itself as hybrid. On funding, their position is: own funds / parent group. The reliable test is not the label but the paperwork: ask which registered company would be the buyer on your contract, and ask for proof of funds.

How much does Goodmove pay — and of what valuation?

Their published position is up to 85% (approx 15% below market value). Whatever figure is quoted, ask the question their material does not answer: a percentage of what valuation, and who sets it? Our own answer to that question is on our what-we-pay page.

Does Goodmove ask you to sign anything before exchange?

Their standard seller terms are not published, so ask them directly and in writing before proceeding: will you be asked to sign anything before exchange — an exclusivity period, an option agreement, or anything with a withdrawal fee? We ask you to sign nothing before exchange, and our terms page says so in writing.

How long does Goodmove take?

Average 3 weeks direct; as little as 1 week in some cases; no published timescale for brokered route. Treat headline speed as the fastest case, not the typical one.

Does Goodmove charge fees?

No fees apparent Legal fees: Yes with recommended solicitor; £500 contribution if using own.

Is Goodmove a member of the NAPB?

Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing). Membership is checkable in minutes: search the NAPB member list directly rather than relying on logos, and do the same on The Property Ombudsman register.

What happened to Goodmove?

Regulated-buyer claim is checkable and misleading. Source also carries serious third-party allegations about review removal – NOT verified, EXCLUDED from editorial.

Kelvin Elliott is Managing Director of My Homebuyers. Twenty years in UK property —
mortgage brokerage, estate agency, development and direct acquisition. Kelvin makes every offer
My Homebuyers issues.

My Homebuyers competes with Goodmove, which is
why this page opens with a disclosure.

Sources: Companies House (company 09376775); The Property Ombudsman and NAPB registers; Trustpilot and Google review platforms (figures recorded August 2026); the company’s own published material as reviewed August 2026.

My Homebuyers figures last verified 28 August 2026.