British Homebuyers Reviews

Company assessment — by a competitor

British Homebuyers has strong published review scores, but the service being reviewed is not always the one sellers expect. This page sets out the distinction and why it matters.

Published August 29, 2026 ·
Last reviewed September 3, 2026

The short version

The review scores here are genuinely strong and appear to reflect real service quality. The question is what service is being delivered. An agency arrangement and a cash purchase solve different problems: an agency can find you a buyer at a better price, but it cannot commit to a completion date, and at least one reviewer describes a wait of several months. If your reason for approaching a quick-sale company is a deadline, that distinction is the whole point. For a seller whose property has stalled on the open market and who has time, the service appears to work well and the feedback supports that. For a seller who needs a guaranteed date, an agency arrangement cannot provide one regardless of how well it is run. Establish in writing which service you are being offered, and what the fee is, before you sign.

Who they actually are

Source: Companies House
Legal entity — trading address Third Floor, St Peters House, 45 Victoria Street, St Albans AL1 3HZ; secondary sources indicate a previous company name and group branding with British Homesellers — verify entity, previous names and PSC directly at Companies House before use
Incorporated 2012 (per old dataset — verify at Companies House)

What this means in plain terms. The brand name and the legal entity are different names — the entity on any paperwork should be checked against the Companies House record for — trading address Third Floor, St Peters House, 45 Victoria Street, St Albans AL1 3HZ; secondary sources indicate a previous company name and group branding with British Homesellers — verify entity, previous names and PSC directly at Companies House before use on the day you deal with them.

Financial position

Reported turnover: Not published – small company exemption; criteria require turnover under £5.6m.

The question this section answers: can this company complete at the figure it offers?

Credentials

Checked directly against each register
British Homebuyers My Homebuyers
The Property Ombudsman Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing) Registered as My Homebuyers
NAPB Not a member (NAPB register, re-check on day of writing) Membership number 66

What they pay — and a percentage of what?

What they publish. Published price position: Not published. Fees: Website says no fees; reviews cite higher managed-sale fees. Legal fees: Says no fees; conditions unclear.

The denominator question. A percentage of market value only means something if you know
whose valuation of market value. 85% of a company’s own desktop estimate can be less money
than 80% of an independent estate agent valuation.

Their described valuation approach: Not published. Nothing in the material we reviewed (August 2026) states whose valuation of market value any percentage figure applies to — the figure is produced by their own process, which is exactly why the question matters.

Our answer to the same question

Our 80% is based on what we genuinely believe your property could sell for on the open market in current conditions, using comparable sales, market data and evidence from local estate agents. How our figure is set.

Initial offer versus final offer. Reported in public reviews: One review: letter offered 97%, actual offer 80%. Complaint themes: Service confusion (cash buy vs estate agency); higher fee structure; seller hosts own viewings.

Our comparable, from our completions data

We agree our offer based on the information available at the time and aim to complete at that price. We don't use a higher initial offer to secure the property and then reduce it later without good reason.

What you’re asked to sign, and when

In the material we reviewed (August 2026): Company claims no tie-in. Get the specific documents in writing before your first call, and check every clause against the question below. (Their published terms as archived 1 August 2026.)

The question to ask them before your first phone call, in writing:

“Will I be asked to sign anything before exchange of contracts — an
exclusivity period, option agreement, or anything with a withdrawal fee? If so, please send it now.”

Our position on the same question

We never ask you to sign anything before exchange of contracts. No exclusivity period, no option
agreement, no lock-in, no fees if you walk away. Until the day you exchange, you can talk to anyone,
accept any offer, and leave at any point — it costs you nothing.
Our terms, in full.

How long they take

Published timescale: As little as 7 days claimed; no average published. Their described process: Enquiry, formal cash offer once valuations in, proceeds paid on completion.

Our comparable, method stated

As little as 14 working days, or anytime thereafter to suit your circumstances.

Public review profile

Figures as recorded in our dataset (August 2026): Trustpilot 4.7/5; Google 4.8/5. Negative-review response rate 100%. Review removal activity: 4 requested; 2 rejected; 2 removed no reviewer response. (Figures recorded 1 August 2026.)

Side by side

Same rows, same order, on every assessment we publish
British Homebuyers My Homebuyers
Business model Agency Direct Cash House Buyer
Buys with own funds Not a purchaser Yes
Published % of market value Not stated 80%
% of what — denominator stated? Not stated Expected sale price — based on comparable sales and current market data
Fees to seller Website says no fees; reviews cite higher managed-sale fees No Fess
Anything to sign before exchange? Company states no tie-in (verify terms) Nothing to sign
Typical timescale As little as 7 days claimed; no average published Typically 14 working days, or anytime thereafter
Offer held to completion Not published; reductions reported in reviews — see pay section Yes — held to completion
Who makes the offer decision Not stated Company Director
Coverage Not stated National
NAPB Not a member (NAPB register, re-check on day of writing) Member
TPO Member (register checked — re-check on day of writing) Member
Company age Since 2012 10 years

Where they beat us

  1. claims offers never reduced and no tie-in contract
  2. A longer corporate track record than ours — the entity behind the brand has been on the register since 2012
  3. Greater purchasing capacity — a larger operation can take on more purchases at once than we can

Who they’re right for — and who should look elsewhere

Right for you if: Proactive case management; alternative to high-street agents; high-quality communication.

Look elsewhere if: No reviews evidencing direct purchase; accounts show under £50k cash at bank; timescale uncertainty.

One structural difference worth knowing about, whoever you sell to.
At larger operators like British Homebuyers, the offer comes out of a pricing and underwriting process, and the person you speak to is rarely the person who decides. We’re small — the director who makes the offer is the person who answers the phone, and the name at the bottom of this page is the name on your paperwork. Small also means we sometimes say no: we can only buy so many houses at once, and we’d rather decline than offer a figure we’d renegotiate later.

How to check any cash buyer yourself — including us

Four checks that take twenty minutes: confirm the legal entity on Companies House and match it to the name on
anything you’re asked to sign; check The Property Ombudsman and NAPB registers directly rather than trusting
logos; ask “a percentage of what figure, and who sets it?” before discussing the percentage itself;
and ask, in writing, what you’ll be asked to sign before exchange.
The full method.

Right of reply and corrections

British Homebuyers: if anything on this page is inaccurate, email
contact@myhomebuyers.co.uk. We’ll verify and correct
within five working days, and log the change below with the date. We’ll publish a response from you alongside
this assessment if you want one.

Corrections log
Date Change Raised by
No corrections to date

Questions people ask about British Homebuyers

Is British Homebuyers a genuine cash buyer?

British Homebuyers describes itself as agency. On funding, their position is: not a purchaser. The reliable test is not the label but the paperwork: ask which registered company would be the buyer on your contract, and ask for proof of funds.

How much does British Homebuyers pay — and of what valuation?

They do not publish a specific percentage of market value. Whatever figure is quoted, ask the question their material does not answer: a percentage of what valuation, and who sets it? Our own answer to that question is on our what-we-pay page.

Does British Homebuyers ask you to sign anything before exchange?

The material we reviewed indicates paperwork before exchange — see the contracts section above for exactly what. Ask for every document in writing before your first call, and check it for exclusivity periods, option agreements and withdrawal fees. We ask you to sign nothing before exchange.

How long does British Homebuyers take?

As little as 7 days claimed; no average published. Treat headline speed as the fastest case, not the typical one.

Does British Homebuyers charge fees?

Website says no fees; reviews cite higher managed-sale fees Legal fees: Says no fees; conditions unclear.

Is British Homebuyers a member of the NAPB?

Not a member (NAPB register, re-check on day of writing). Membership is checkable in minutes: search the NAPB member list directly rather than relying on logos, and do the same on The Property Ombudsman register.

What happened to British Homebuyers?

Accounts state principal activity as estate agency; one review cites 6+ months to completion.

Kelvin Elliott is Managing Director of My Homebuyers. Twenty years in UK property —
mortgage brokerage, estate agency, development and direct acquisition. Kelvin makes every offer
My Homebuyers issues.

My Homebuyers competes with British Homebuyers, which is
why this page opens with a disclosure.

Sources: Companies House; The Property Ombudsman and NAPB registers; Trustpilot and Google review platforms (figures recorded August 2026); the company’s own published material as reviewed August 2026.

My Homebuyers figures last verified 28 August 2026.