Bettermove Reviews

Company assessment — by a competitor

Bettermove has one of the largest review bases in this sector, which makes the patterns inside it more meaningful than usual. This page looks at what those patterns show.

Published August 29, 2026 ·
Last reviewed September 3, 2026

The short version

The valuation tool is the thing to examine first. Implying that a seller nets more through a quick-sale route than through a high street agent inverts the basic economics of the model: a discount buyer profits from the discount, so a company paying above what the open market would deliver has no margin. Treat any such comparison as marketing rather than analysis, and ask instead for an open market valuation with evidence and a clearly stated discount. The recurring complaint in the review base, that a property was listed on portals rather than bought, is consistent with a brokered rather than a direct model. The large review volume is a genuine advantage and there is clearly a base of satisfied sellers. But the two most common criticisms both point at the same gap between a purchase and an introduction, and a seller working to a deadline is exposed by that gap. Establish in writing whether Bettermove is the buyer. If it is not, you are using an agency, and should compare it on agency terms.

Financial position

No filed accounts could be matched to this brand, because the legal entity behind it is not clearly published. Ask any buyer which registered company would purchase your property, then read that company’s most recent accounts at Companies House before relying on its offer.

The question this section answers: can this company complete at the figure it offers?

What they pay — and a percentage of what?

What they publish. Published price position: ~90% implied by on-site interactive tool.

The denominator question. A percentage of market value only means something if you know
whose valuation of market value. 85% of a company’s own desktop estimate can be less money
than 80% of an independent estate agent valuation.

Their described valuation approach: Not published. Nothing in the material we reviewed (August 2026) states whose valuation of market value any percentage figure applies to — the figure is produced by their own process, which is exactly why the question matters.

Our answer to the same question

Our 80% is based on what we genuinely believe your property could sell for on the open market in current conditions, using comparable sales, market data and evidence from local estate agents. How our figure is set.

Initial offer versus final offer. Complaint themes: Investor network not materialising; portal listing at discount; extended timescales including one over a year.

Our comparable, from our completions data

We agree our offer based on the information available at the time and aim to complete at that price. We don't use a higher initial offer to secure the property and then reduce it later without good reason.

What you’re asked to sign, and when

Their standard seller terms were not published in the material we reviewed (August 2026). A company that does not publish what it asks sellers to sign leaves you one option: request the documents in writing before your first phone call, and read them against the question below. If they publish or provide their terms, this section will be updated and the change logged. (Their published terms as archived 1 August 2026.)

The question to ask them before your first phone call, in writing:

“Will I be asked to sign anything before exchange of contracts — an
exclusivity period, option agreement, or anything with a withdrawal fee? If so, please send it now.”

Our position on the same question

We never ask you to sign anything before exchange of contracts. No exclusivity period, no option
agreement, no lock-in, no fees if you walk away. Until the day you exchange, you can talk to anyone,
accept any offer, and leave at any point — it costs you nothing.
Our terms, in full.

How long they take

Published timescale: Works to seller timescales; reviews report significantly longer, one over a year. Their described process: Contact, discovery call, offer to buy or offer to sell on your behalf, works to your timescale, completion.

Our comparable, method stated

As little as 14 working days, or anytime thereafter to suit your circumstances.

Public review profile

Figures as recorded in our dataset (August 2026): Trustpilot 4.5/5 from 1148 reviews. Negative-review response rate 33%. Review removal activity: 14 requested; 8 found in reviewer favour; 6 removed no reviewer response. Note: Source references third-party consumer forum claims. Unverified, excluded from editorial. (Figures recorded 1 August 2026.)

Side by side

Same rows, same order, on every assessment we publish
Bettermove My Homebuyers
Business model Broker / agency Direct Cash House Buyer
Buys with own funds Investor network Yes
Published % of market value ~90% implied by on-site interactive tool 80%
% of what — denominator stated? Not stated Expected sale price — based on comparable sales and current market data
Fees to seller Not stated No Fess
Anything to sign before exchange? Not stated Nothing to sign
Typical timescale Works to seller timescales; reviews report significantly longer, one over a year Typically 14 working days, or anytime thereafter
Offer held to completion Not stated Yes — held to completion
Who makes the offer decision Not stated Company Director
Coverage Not stated National
NAPB Not stated Member
TPO Not stated Member
Company age Not stated 10 years

Where they beat us

  1. Large review base (1148)
  2. multiple contact channels
  3. flexible on timescales

Who they’re right for — and who should look elsewhere

Right for you if: Large review base (1148); multiple contact channels; flexible on timescales.

Look elsewhere if: Investor network reportedly not materialising; properties listed on portals at a discount per reviews; sale times far longer than expected in several reviews; low engagement with negative reviews.

One structural difference worth knowing about, whoever you sell to.
Bettermove operates an intermediary model, so the company you deal with is not necessarily the company that buys. We’re different in a specific, checkable way: we are the buyer, we’re small, and the director who makes the offer is the person who answers the phone — the name at the bottom of this page is the name on your paperwork. Small also means we sometimes say no; we’d rather decline than quote a figure we’d renegotiate later.

How to check any cash buyer yourself — including us

Four checks that take twenty minutes: confirm the legal entity on Companies House and match it to the name on
anything you’re asked to sign; check The Property Ombudsman and NAPB registers directly rather than trusting
logos; ask “a percentage of what figure, and who sets it?” before discussing the percentage itself;
and ask, in writing, what you’ll be asked to sign before exchange.
The full method.

Right of reply and corrections

Bettermove: if anything on this page is inaccurate, email
contact@myhomebuyers.co.uk. We’ll verify and correct
within five working days, and log the change below with the date. We’ll publish a response from you alongside
this assessment if you want one.

Corrections log
Date Change Raised by
No corrections to date

Questions people ask about Bettermove

Is Bettermove a genuine cash buyer?

Bettermove describes itself as broker / agency. On funding, their position is: investor network. The reliable test is not the label but the paperwork: ask which registered company would be the buyer on your contract, and ask for proof of funds.

How much does Bettermove pay — and of what valuation?

Their published position is ~90% implied by on-site interactive tool. Whatever figure is quoted, ask the question their material does not answer: a percentage of what valuation, and who sets it? Our own answer to that question is on our what-we-pay page.

Does Bettermove ask you to sign anything before exchange?

Their standard seller terms are not published, so ask them directly and in writing before proceeding: will you be asked to sign anything before exchange — an exclusivity period, an option agreement, or anything with a withdrawal fee? We ask you to sign nothing before exchange, and our terms page says so in writing.

How long does Bettermove take?

Works to seller timescales; reviews report significantly longer, one over a year. Treat headline speed as the fastest case, not the typical one.

Does Bettermove charge fees?

Whatever the headline, confirm in writing whether any percentage or figure quoted is before or after fees, and what — if anything — you would owe if you withdrew before exchange.

Is Bettermove a member of the NAPB?

Their NAPB position is not stated in the material we reviewed. Membership is checkable in minutes: search the NAPB member list directly rather than relying on logos, and do the same on The Property Ombudsman register.

What happened to Bettermove?

On-site tool implies ~90% vs 87.5% for a typical estate agent, which is commercially implausible for a discount buyer. Third-party consumer forum discussion referenced by source – NOT verified, excluded from editorial.

Kelvin Elliott is Managing Director of My Homebuyers. Twenty years in UK property —
mortgage brokerage, estate agency, development and direct acquisition. Kelvin makes every offer
My Homebuyers issues.

My Homebuyers competes with Bettermove, which is
why this page opens with a disclosure.

Sources: Companies House; The Property Ombudsman and NAPB registers; Trustpilot and Google review platforms (figures recorded August 2026); the company’s own published material as reviewed August 2026.

My Homebuyers figures last verified 28 August 2026.